top of page

A Picture


What do you see when you look at this picture? You may answer: a husband and wife, two people, a bridge, trees... You could answer so many things when asked this question. The thing is, I don't see any of these things. I see LOVE.


Years ago, the love that shines through this picture, was not there. There was hurt, pain, resentment, disappointment, and many other things. But there was not a look of love. The love we have now cannot be broken. It is different.


I'm not saying that we did not love each other. It is hard to love someone who rejects and tries to push you away. I tried. I failed. I kept trying. I know that God was able to lead me to show him love how he needed it. I am thankful that I don't have to think about what if I would not have shown him love and listened to God. There are so many things that could fill in that answer.


We are not perfect now, but love is permanently in our relationship. A kind of love that is selfless and unconditional. A love that tries hard even when the feeling may not be as strong. (We all get upset and don't "feel" love as strongly.) A love that forgives quickly and is humble.


Love is a choice. We have to choose daily whether we will love and show love to one another. We don't let a day go by without expressing with words and actions how we feel. We try really hard to resolve any issues that come up before we go to bed. Now, this isn't to say that each thing is resolved, but we are able to love through it all.


Love is beautiful. Love is messy. Love is true. Love is faithful. Love is everything none of us are capable to do on our own. Love is God. God is love. I know we would not be here without God. He is good.


"Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails." 1 Corinthians 13: 4-8.


"Love never fails." When you really put it all out there and love with all of your being. It will not fail. It will conquer all. I have lived this. I have seen the fruits of loving with all I am, even when I did not feel like loving. When man can't, God can.


Love.





*Pictures are by Picture It Southern Photography.*

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page