top of page

Far from Perfect

We are just two people. We met in college at my apartment. When I was moving in, he was helping a mutual friend move out. He helped me to get my TV to work, but that was all we interacted that day. I knew I needed to get to know him, and my roommates thought the same.


Night we got engaged

Fast forward to around 8 months later. He proposed in a very romantic way with a candle lit path and roses sprinkled on a dock. I was completely surprised and so excited. His whole family was in on the surprise and mine knew about it too. We set a date for May 24, 2008 and couldn't wait to become Mr. & Mrs..


If you had told me we would've struggled the way we have, I think I would have called you a liar. I never would've thought we would've gone through the fires we have gone through. By the way, you read that right, FIRES. Plural! (I totally get everyone goes through some. I am in no way knocking all of the other trials that others have, but I really didn't think we would have these.)


Had I known when he actually cheated on me that it was going on for sure, I would've left. I have no doubt in my mind. I don't even think I would've looked back. But I believe God allowed me to find out at just the right time. Because we wouldn't have the two most precious gifts that this world has given us: Tinley and Carter.

Tinley Paige and Carter Levi

As I type this, I'm crying tears of joy. Joy because we have been through trials that I wouldn't wish on anyone. We have been tried and then tried some more. I know it is because God wants us to change the world. No one ever changes things without opposition. I am beyond thankful and blessed that I have the life I have. That we have the life we have and that God has continued to bless us even when He could've said, "Well, nothing is changing. Maybe someone else should do this task." Y'all, God designed each of us for a PURPOSE! One that only we can fulfill. Can He use someone else if needed? Yes. But guess what, some things go undone if we don't choose to do them ourselves.


I hope that this blog encourages you. That you truly see the light of Jesus in me and through me. I've felt like I'm supposed to write for a while, but sitting down and putting all of this into words feels like I'm doing God an injustice. He is so BIG. He is so GOOD. And He can do ALL things.


Let Him be your light. Shine bright!



21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page